Verfasste Studierendenschaft der Hochschule Furtwangen

Welcome to the website of the student body (VSt) of Furtwangen University (HFU). Here, interested readers can find out more about the student bodies at HFU as well as other services offered by the VSt.


This website was developed by a small group of students in their spare time. It is still in an early phase and will be developed continuously. If you have any complaints or suggestions for improvement, please feel free to contact us via the contact page at the bottom of this page.

About the student body

The student body of Furtwangen University is a public corporation with legal capacity and as such a member of the university. Every enrolled student is automatically a member of the Verfasste Studierendenschaft and of his or her student council. While the "Verfasste Studierendenschaft" represents the students as a whole, each of the nine "Fachschaften" performs this task at the faculty level.

The General Student Committee (AStA) is the executive body authorized to represent the students.

Organs and units

Student Council

The legislative body of the constituted student body is the Student Council. Nine of the fifteen members of the body are directly elected by the students. Six ex-officio student senate members are also part of the body.

The Student Council elects the chair, his or her deputy, the finance officer, the university policy officer, and the officer for recreation and sports. In addition, the Student Council confirms the members of the Campus-AStA and their chairpersons, as well as the finance officers and chairpersons of the student representatives.

General Student Committee

The executive body of the constituted student body is the General Student Committee (AStA). It consists ex officio of the chairperson of the Student Council, who is also the chairperson of the AStA, the speakers of the Student Council and the chairpersons of the Campus AStA.

Campus AStA

Due to the decentralized structure of Furtwangen University with its three campuses, student representation is also decentralized. There is a Campus AStA at each of the campuses. This represents the students at the respective campus. Each Campus-AStA elects a chairperson from among its members.

Student representatives

The students of each faculty form a student council. Each of these student councils has to establish its own rules of procedure, which must be confirmed by the student council. There is at least one body in each student council, the student council. This body manages and represents the student council. It elects a chairperson, a deputy chairperson and a financial officer.

Finance Department

The Finance Department is responsible for the finances of the student body. To this end, it works closely with the budget officer of the constituted student body. The Finance Department is headed by the Finance Officer of the Student Council.

University Policy Department

The University Policy Department is responsible for university policy issues together with the Chair. The Higher Education Policy Department is headed by the Higher Education Policy Officer of the Student Council, who is usually also delegated to the Senate as an advisory member.

Department for Recreation and Sports

The Department of Recreation and Sports is responsible for the cultural and university sports activities at Furtwangen University. It manages the equipment of the sports and recreational meetings, which are organized by students on behalf of the student body. The department for leisure and sports is managed by the speaker for leisure and sports of the student council.



Furtwangen University
Associated Student Body
Robert-Gerwig-Platz 1
78120 Furtwangen

Translated with (free version)